Here are the 69 people newly appointed to the Order of Canada…


OTTAWA — Sixty-nine new appointments to the Order of Canada were announced Wednesday by the Governor General. The appointees include six companions of the order, 14 new officers and 49 new members.

Here is the full list:


Brenda Andrews of Toronto

Lloyd Axworthy of Winnipeg (This is a promotion within the Order.)

Atom Egoyan of Toronto (This is a promotion within the Order.)

Angela Hewitt of London, U.K. and Ottawa (This is a promotion within the Order.)

Margaret MacMillan of Oxford, U.K. and Toronto (This is a promotion within the Order.)

Arthur B. McDonald of Kingston, Ont. (This is a promotion within the Order.)



Marcel Boyer of Montreal

Julie Dickson of Ottawa

Nassif Ghoussoub of Vancouver

Magella Gros-Louis of Wendake, Que.

Dany Laferriere of Montreal

Guy Latraverse of Montreal

Brian M. Levitt of Montreal

Richard H. McLaren of London, Ont.

Daniel Poliquin of Ottawa (This is a promotion within the Order.)

Richard Scott of Winnipeg

Frances Alice Shepherd of Toronto

Jennifer Anne Stoddart of Montreal

Donald John Taylor of Calgary (This is a promotion within the Order.)

Mary Anne White of Halifax



George Baird of Toronto

Bernard Belanger of La Pocatiere, Que.

David Bissett of Calgary

Denise Bombardier of Montreal

Joseph Boyden of New Orleans and Ahmic Harbour, Ont.

Laura Brandon of Ottawa

Sophie Brochu of Bromont, Que.

Phyllis Bruce of Toronto

Rudy Buttignol of Vancouver

Barbara Byers of Ottawa

Catherine Callbeck of Central Bedeque, P.E.I.

Robert Campbell of Sackville, N.B.

Susan M.W. Cartwright of Ottawa

Antoni Cimolino of Stratford, Ont.

Jack Lynn Cockwell of Toronto

Patricia Cranton of Lakeville Corner, N.B.

Joseph Z. Daigle of Dieppe, N.B.

Wade Davis of Bowen Island, B.C.

Rollande Desbois of Montreal

Diane Dufresne of Montreal

Ivan Kenneth Eyre of Winnipeg

Meric Gertler of Toronto

Ted Grant of Victoria

Barbara Hall of Toronto

Odette Heyn of Winnipeg

Jean-Marc Lalonde of Rockland, Ont.

Pierre H. Lessard of Montreal

Peter S. Li of Richmond, B.C.

Rohinton Mistry of Toronto

John Mulvihill of Toronto

Marie-Jose Nadeau of Montreal

Audrey O’Brien of Ottawa

Sandra Paikowsky of Montreal

Erna Paris of Toronto

Helen Fogwill Porter of Paradise, N.L.

Placide Poulin of Sainte-Marie-de-Beauce, Que.

Louise Richer of Montreal

Kent Roach of Toronto

Cathy Roozen of Edmonton

Morris Rosenberg of Ottawa

Fiona Amaryllis Sampson of Toronto

P. Kim Sturgess of Calgary

Noreen Taylor of Toronto

Faye Thomson of Winnipeg

Peter Valentine of Calgary

Helen Vari of Toronto

Douglas Ward of Ottawa

Richard Weber of Alcove, Que.

Frederic Wien of Halifax


30/12/2015 18:01  By: Metro News