Residents of 5 states risk penalties over 9-11 Real ID law

OKLAHOMA CITY - Residents of five states may be barred from boarding a commercial flight using a driver's license beginning in 2018 because of their states' refusal to comply with national proof-of-identity requirements.

The U.S. Department of Homeland Security confirmed Wednesday that it rejected requests from Oklahoma, Kentucky, Maine, Pennsylvania and South Carolina for an extension to comply with the federal Real ID Act. The law, passed in 2005 in response to the 9-11 attacks, imposes tougher requirements for proof of legal U.S. residency in order for state driver's licenses to be valid for federal purposes.

Read the full article...